Honours awarded as Tairua SLSC celebrates successful year

06 Apr 2021

A year of challenge, growth and change was marked on Saturday evening at Tairua Surf Life Saving Club’s annual dinner and prize-giving held at Tairua Golf & Country Club.

Over 90 members gathered for the celebration. Chairman, Tony Cheetham, reflected on the significant events of the past 12 months, including the passing of life member, Graeme Ridler. “Graeme was all about producing the best possible lifeguards in terms of skills and knowledge to send out onto our beach and we are proud to continue his legacy, with eight new lifeguards qualifying this year,” he said.

Major highlights included winning Coromandel Club of the Year and Patrol Club of the Year at the Eastern Region Surf Life Saving Awards and securing funding of $699,000 from the government’s Provincial Growth Fund to develop a new purpose-built clubhouse, a project that is due to commence in June and be completed for the start of the new summer season.

“It was also of course the year of COVID-19,” said Tony. “I would like to thank Surf NZ who were fantastic in getting information to us. Another biproduct of everyone holidaying at home was what felt like half of New Zealand decided to send their kids to our summer junior surf lifesaving programme, so we had record numbers, reaching around 135. I would like thank our instructors who did an amazing job and our senior guards who came back to help us by acting as mentors for this young team of instructors.”

Tony also acknowledged the hardworking committee and sponsors of the club, and the Tairua community who he said continued to show fantastic support.

Pictured: Those who received awards on Saturday evening. Back, from the left - Jamie Bryson (Club Service Award), Ryan Tourani Rad (Hamish Stewart Club Spirit Award), Fairven Harris (Most Improved Lifeguard), Bella Muir (Emerging Lifeguard of the Year) and Sean Ridler (Volunteer of the Year). Front, from the left - Tom Simpson (Rescue of the Year), Jae Broomfield (Lifeguard of the Year) and Scott Kerr (Peter Tait Memorial Award). Gabby Hughes (JSP Instructor of the Year ) is absent from the photo. The Kina Cup for Best Patrol was won by Alpha.